2018 Herald Sun Classic Update

The 2018 Herald-Sun Classic – Thursday & Friday Tee Times
June 19, 2018
2018 Herald Sun Classic – Thursday Update
June 22, 2018

2018 Herald Sun Classic Update

Round two is now completed and we have some very competitive play going on! Ronnie Williams has once again won the Medalist honors for the Herald Sun Classic firing rounds of 64-71=135 beating out Bill Bambic who enjoyed fine play with rounds of 70-67=137. For the Juniors, Brycen Swain pulls in Medalist honors with rounds of 74-80=154 and the Senior Division honors goes once again to Lea Couch who stayed very steady in his play with rounds of 70-73=143.

As always, there were four closest to the pin contests. On Monday, Paul Harris wins out on the 4th hole while Bobby Crabtree snagged the 15th hole. Tuesday’s play found Louis Herndon on the 7th and Destin Barnes on the 17th winning top shots! Each player will receive a $25.00 gift certificate to the Hillandale Golf Course Golf Shop.

Pairings and tee times have been set for Thursday’s play. The Championship Flight has Ronnie Williams in the #1 seed in the top bracket with Bill Bambic in the #2 slot in the lower bracket. A returning Championship Division Champion is James Hockman who shot great rounds of 70-69=139 and has proven he belongs once again in the Championship Flight.

The President’s Flight has Andrew Hanna sitting in the #1 seed position after qualifying with rounds of 75-76=151. Justin Finger is in the #2 position firing the same total but with a 78 on the first round and a great 73 for round two! The round of the day in the President’s Flight, although not the lowest score carded, goes to Robert Hockman who fired a second-round score of 77! What makes this such a fine round? Robert plays with only his right hand!

The First Flight has Galen Maultsby in the top slot after firing his career low round on day one with a 76. His second round was a little rocky with an 86 totaling him out at 162 but good enough to take top spot. Also, at 162 and in the #2 position is Bobby Crabtree with consistent rounds of 81-81=162. A notable round goes to Richard Wagner who came back from a first round 85 firing a second round 78 and carding the low qualifying round for the First Flight.

Second Flight has Kiel Blanton with a total of 171 in the first seed and John Ivey at 172 in the second seed position. Each of the First and Second Flights have 13 players in each.

The Senior Division has Johnny Adams as the number one seed as he is the returning champion. Lea Couch is slotted at #2 with his medalist earning total of 143. Notables in the Senior Championship Flight are of course Adams and Couch but also Cecil Lockley and Dink Andrews.

The Senior President’s Flight has Geoff Thornburn atop the list at 159 and Warren Henderson the second seed at 164.

No doubt all matches will be enjoyable to watch and stay tuned for more news from this year’s Herald Sun Classic!